Twice baked stuffed yam

In my fridge had an absolutely giant yam, I have no idea how I looked at it in a grocery store and thought it was good idea to buy a yam that huge, but hey, it happened.  I always do the same things with yam, yam fries duh, because they are amazing, but not that exciting, so to make things a little more interesting I decided I wanted to try stuffing a yam.  I had no idea what one would stuff a yam with, but I had some left over hummus, chick pea and cherry tomatoes, so I thought I would try a vaguely Lebanese inspired recipe.

IMG_0099

  • 1 large yam
  • coconut oil
  • a few small cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 tsp (2.5 ml) cumin, turmeric and chilli powder
  • 1/4 cup chick peas (60 ml) (I used canned)
  • 1/3 cup (80 ml) hummus

First I rubbed coconut oil and salt on the yam, then I wrapped it in aluminum foil and baked it at 180 C (350 f) for two hours.  Most yams should bake within an hour unless you bought a freakishly large one like I did.

When the yam is soft all the way through take it out of the oven and let it cool.  Once cool, cut it halves and remove the center, leaving about 4 cm (1.5 inch) of yam in the skin.  IMG_0100

Take your hummus, chickpea and spices and mix them in with the yam filling, once nicely mixed scoop the mixture back into the yam and top with cherry tomatoes.  Bake the stuffed yams for 10 to 15 minutes.

.

Finished product!

Finished product!

1 thought on “Twice baked stuffed yam

Leave a comment